⚠ COVID-19 - Official Statement from AWS

D. Fred and Marian L. Bovie Technical Scholarship

D. Fred and Marian L. Bovie Technical Scholarship

D. Fred Bovie graduated from The Ohio State University in 1953 with a bachelor degree in welding engineering, and received his MBA from the University of Chicago. He served in the U. S. Air Force as a Lieutenant. He began his career as an application engineer in the Gas and Welding Unit at Airco. During his 27 years there, he held a variety of marketing and operating management positions and eventually served as Vice President and General Manager for Airco's arc equipment and filler metal business.

In 1980, Bovie joined Alloy Rods Corp., and served as President until its purchase by ESAB. Bovie then served as President and Chief Executive of The ESAB Group, Inc., the company's North American subsidiary until his retirement.

Mr. Bovie was a life member of the American Welding Society, and served on the Welding Research Council, NWSA, and NEMA.

Mr. Bovie was selected to the 2001 AWS Class of Counselors, served on the board of AWS and the AWS Foundation, and today is AWS Foundation Trustee Emeritus.


To provide scholarship funding to a student pursuing a minimum two-year Associates degree in welding.


All applicants must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  1. Applicant must have a minimum high school diploma.
  2. Applicant must have a 2.8 overall grade point average.
  3. Student may be enrolled full time or part time.
  4. Student is pursuing a minimum two-year associates degree.
  5. Proof of financial need is required to qualify.
  6. Applicant must be a citizen of the U.S.
  7. Applicant must submit all required application information.
  8. Applicants may reapply; however, persons who have received this award may reapply and may be granted the award for a maximum of 4 years.

Applicant does not have to be a member of the American Welding Society.

The AWS Foundation does not discriminate by age, race, color, national origin, disability, creed, or gender.


The recipient will be chosen by a Selection Committee comprised of at least five (5) members from the Education Scholarship Committee.


Yearly award of $2,000 for tuition and fees only. Funds are paid directly to the academic institution by the AWS Foundation.

Scholarship Application