Welding Educator Professional Development Scholarships

Educator scholarships

Educator scholarships

The American Welding Society (AWS) is renowned for its dedication to advancing the field of welding and joining technology. Beyond its technical contributions, the AWS also recognizes the pivotal role that educators play in shaping the future of welding professionals. AWS Scholarships designed for educators are a testament to the organization's commitment to supporting those who teach, inspire, and mentor the next generation of welders.

Applications for the 2023 Welder Training Scholarship are open through November 30th.

applications for 2023-24 national, district, and section scholarships are closed.

Check back December 1st to apply.


Important Dates
 December 1st - November 30th  Applications accepted for 2023 Welder Training Scholarships
Apply online at scholarship.aws.org
 January 15th - December 15th Selections made on a rolling basis 


Welding Educator Professional Development Scholarships may be used for: Associate, Bachelor’s, Master’s, or Doctorate degree programs in welding or education CWI/CWE Seminar and Exam CWI/SCWI Endorsements Other AWS Certifications (i.e. CRAW, CWS, etc.)

AWS Online Courses FABTECH Education Program Weld-Ed Educator Courses CTE Continuing Education Courses Professional Certification Courses and Exams Welding Educator Workshops or Seminars the AWS Foundation offers four National Educator Scholarships worth up to $5,000. Additionally, each AWS District has an award pool of $2,000, and scholarships may range from $500 to $2,000.

Eligibility and Application Process


  • Applicants must be current, full-time or part-time welding educators.
  • Applicants must be an educator at a public or private organization that’s primary purpose is education and training.
  • Applicants must be pursuing continuing education or professional development that is required for continued employment or is meant to improve education or training skills to significantly impact student success and outcomes.
  • Scholarship funds may be used for in-person or online courses.


The application includes the following:

  • Applicant and Educational Institution Information
  • General Background Statement, including teaching experience, industry experience, career objectives, and involvement in AWS, student organizations, and local community
  • Name, description, and provider of continuing education or professional development
  • Impact on student success and outcomes
  • Letter of Recommendation (Required for National Educator Scholarships)

Scholarships Available

National Educator Scholarships

  • Bechtel Foundation Educator Scholarship
    Earl C. Lipphardt Educator Scholarship
  • Jackson Safety Educator Scholarship (Applicant’s school must graduate 50 or more students annually)
  • Tim Turner Educator Scholarship 
  • William Kielhorn Educator Scholarship

Preference will be given to applicants pursuing an AS, AAS, BS, MS, or PhD degree.

National Educator Scholarship awards range from $2,500 to $5,000.

District Educator Scholarships

  • Each of AWS’s 22 Districts has an award pool of $2,000
  • Scholarships may range from $500 to $2,000

The District is determined by the location of the school or campus. To see which District your school is in, view the AWS District and Section Map here.

Selection and Awards


  • Selections for National and District Educator Scholarships are made in May or June.


  • No award will be paid to the recipient. All awards will be paid directly to the institution or organization providing the continuing education or professional development.
  • Scholarship funds may be used to pay tuition, fees, books, supplies, or equipment required for the course of instruction.
  • Scholarship funds may not be used for travel or housing fees.
  • Recipients can reapply, however, no recipient may receive the specific award (National or District) more than twice.
  • Recipients may receive both National and District Educators Scholarships in the same year.


If you have any questions, please contact foundation@aws.org.