Educator scholarships

Educator scholarships

The AWS Educator Professional Development Scholarships provide up to $5,000 for welding educators to advance their skills and impact in teaching. Aimed at current educators in welding-related fields, these scholarships demonstrate AWS's dedication to enriching welding education.

Applications are closed. Check back in January to apply.

Scholarships Details

The AWS Foundation offers five National Educator Scholarships worth up to $5,000. Additionally, each AWS District has an award pool of $2,000, and scholarships may range from $500 to $2,000.

The District is determined by the location of the school or campus where the training will take place. To see which District your school is in, view the AWS District and Section Map here.

Eligibility Requirements 

  • Applicants must be current, full-time, or part-time welding educators.
  • Applicants must be affiliated with a public or private organization primarily focused on education and training.
  • Applicants must be pursuing continuing education or professional development essential for continued employment or to enhance educational or training skills significantly impacting student success.
  • Scholarship funds can be used for a range of purposes, including Associate, Bachelor’s, Master’s, or Doctorate degree programs in welding or education; CWI/CWE Seminar and Exam; CWI/SCWI Endorsements; various AWS Certifications (e.g., CRAW, CWS); AWS Online Courses and FABTECH Education Program; Weld-Ed Educator Courses; CTE Continuing Education Courses; Professional Certification Courses and Exams; and Welding Educator Workshops or Seminars.
  • AWS Scholarships can be used for tuition, fees, books, supplies, and equipment required for the course of instruction. Scholarship funds will be made payable and sent directly to the educational institution.
  • The scholarships cover expenses for both in-person and online courses. 

Scholarships Selection and Award Guideline

The AWS Educator Professional Development Scholarships are selected annually in May or June, with National and District Educator Scholarships awarded based on set criteria. Scholarship funds are directly paid to the educational institutions or organizations, covering expenses like tuition, fees, books, supplies, and required equipment, but excluding travel and housing costs. Recipients are limited to receiving each type of award (National or District) a maximum of two times, with the possibility of obtaining both National and District awards in the same year.


If you have any questions, please contact