Miller Electric Mfg. Co. Scholarship

Miller Electric Mfg. Co. Scholarship

Miller Electric Mfg. Co. is a leading worldwide manufacturer of Miller® brand arc welding equipment. Miller® is dedicated to providing innovative business-building solutions and ideas, which are driven by the company's unique costumer-intense focus. Miller® products include power sources for MIG/flux cored, TIG, Stick, multiprocess, multioperator, submerged arc, robotic/automated and spot welding. Additional Miller® brand products include gas- and diesel- engine driven welding generators, plasma cutters, wire feeders, MIG guns, induction heating systems, safety gear and passive and auto-darkening welding helmets. Companies and individuals in the manufacturing, fabrication, construction, aerospace, maintenance/repair, technical education, motorsports, farm/ranch and home-hobby markets depend on Miller® equipment for their welding solutions.

Niels Miller founded Miller Electric Mfg. Co. in 1929 in Appleton, Wis., which remains the location of its worldwide headquarters. Miller employs more than 1,450 people and manufactures from nine different plants, totaling more than 1.2 Million square feet of manufacturing space. Miller® 's Web some of the welding industry's most in-depth information and resources for businesses and individuals.


The purpose for this scholarship is to provide financial assistance to those individuals interested in pursuing a career in welding engineering technology, or welding engineering.


The Miller Electric Mfg. Co. Scholarship will be awarded to a full-time undergraduate student who will be a senior in a four-year bachelors degree in welding engineering technology (WET) or welding engineering (WE); however, priority will be given to welding engineering technology (WET) students. All applicants must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Applicant must be a minimum of eighteen years of age.
  • Applicant must be a current junior in a welding engineering technology (WET) or welding engineering (WE) program.
  • Applicant must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade point average.
  • Student must be enrolled full time (12 credits per semester minimun).
  • Financial need is not required to qualify.
  • Applicant must submit all required application information.
  • Applicant must be a citizen of the United States and plan to attend an academic institution located within the United States.
  • The award is one time only, and is non-renewable.
  • Priority will be given to the student who exhibits a strong interest in welding equipment and has prior work experience in the welding equipment field.
  • Priority will be given to those individuals attending Ferris State University.

The AWS Foundation, Inc. does not discriminate by age, race, color, national origin, disability, creed, or gender.


The recipient will be chosen by a Selection Committee comprised of five (5) members, selected by the Education Scholarship Committee.

The Selection Committee will determine award recipient in March of each year. Recipient will be announced at the National Awards Luncheon.


Two (2) $3,000 awards will be given annually.

No awards will be paid to the recipient. Awards are for tuition and fees only, and will be paid directly to the academic institution by the AWS Foundation.

The award will be presented to individuals nationwide. Applicant does not have to be a member of the American Welding Society, but is preferred.

Scholarship Application