Howard E. and Wilma J. Adkins Memorial Scholarship

Howard E. and Wilma J. Adkins Memorial Scholarship

This fund was established in 1994, in memory of Mr. Howard E. Adkins, by family and friends.

Mr. Adkins joined the American Welding Society in 1950, and was active both locally and nationally. Mr. Adkins served as Director-at-Large for the American Welding Society in 1970-73 and in 1976-79. He served as Chairman of the Madison Beloit Section, was on the Board of Directors of the Chicago Section, and was Vice Chairman of the Aluminum Association Committee on Welding & Joining. Mr Adkins also served on the subcommittees on Aluminum Filler Metals, Arc Welding and Cutting, Welding Aluminum Piping, and served on the Manufacturers Committee.

Mr. Adkins was instrumental in the creation of the Instructor Membership Award, which is named in his honor. He was a recipient of both District and National Meritorious Certificate Awards, the Lincoln Gold Medal Award, and the Kaiser Aluminum Technical Services Engineering Award of Merit.

Mr. Adkins received his Masters degree in Education from the University of Wisconsin. He taught for eight years in Kentucky public schools, five years in the Air Force Training Command, and ten years in the University of Wisconsin-Mechanical Engineering Department. Mr. Adkins also worked for Kaiser Aluminum and Chemical Sales, Inc.


The purpose for this scholarship is to provide financial assistance to those individuals interested in pursuing a career in welding engineering.


The Howard E. and Wilma J. Adkins Memorial Scholarship will be awarded to a full-time junior or senior level student pursuing a minimum four-year bachelor's degree in welding engineering (WE) or welding engineering technology (WET); however, priority will be given to welding engineering (WE) students. All applicants must meet the following eligibility requirements.

  • Applicant must be a minimum of eighteen years of age.
  • Applicant must have a minimum high school diploma.
  • Applicant must have completed enough academic credits to qualify for junior level status.
  • Applicant must have a minimum 3.20 grade point average in the engineering, scientific and technical subjects and 2.80 grade point average overall.
  • No financial need is required to qualify.
  • Applicant must submit all required application information.
  • Applicant must be a citizen of the United States and plan to attend an academic institution located within the United States.
  • Priority will be given to those individuals residing or attending school in the states of Wisconsin or Kentucky. (A resident is defined as having lived in the specific area for a minimum of one year.)
  • Applicants may reapply; however, persons who have received this award may reapply and may be granted the award for a maximum of two years.

The award will be presented to individuals nationwide. Applicant does not have to be a member of the American Welding Society.

The AWS Foundation does not discriminate by age, race, color, national origin, disability, creed, or gender.


Applicant will be chosen by the Named Scholarship Selection Committee comprised of five (5) members, which have been selected by the National Educational Scholarship Committee.

Selection committee will determine award recipient in February of each year. Recipient will be announced at the National Awards Luncheon.


One $2,500 award will be given annually.

Scholarship Application