Edward J. Brady Scholarship

Edward J. Brady Scholarship

Ed Brady entered the welding world at the height of the depression in 1933. Arc welding at that time used bare rod, resulting in poor arc control and porosity in the weld deposit. His early experience focused on developing electrode coatings extruded on rod to stabilize the arc, particularly in alloy and stainless steel electrodes.

By 1940, welding was rapidly moving from the maintenance shop to the production floor, replacing the slower bolting and riveting fabrication. The conversion was driven by the demand for war material in Europe and the US build up. Armor steel was difficult to weld without cracking, but Brady's coating formulations resolved the problem.

In 1940, Brady gathered financial backing from four business men in York, Pennsylvania. He purchased used tow extrusion presses from a scrap dealer, and went into the electrode business as Alloy Rods Company. His competition was the heavily capitalized companies of Lincoln Electric, General Electric, Westinghouse, A.O. Smith, Harnischfeger, and Air Reduction. In spite of this formidable competition, however, Alloy Rods' ability to supply special alloy electrodes coupled with their high service level caused them to flourish.

Brady's active development of new filler metal products expanded his product line from stick electrodes into MIG and Flux cored wires, and distribution to numerous overseas licensee's and distributors. Alloy Rods is now part of ESAB Welding and Cutting Products, a division of the largest welding products producer in the world.

It is the objective of this scholarship to honor Mr. Edward J. Brady for his entrepreneurial spirit, knowledge, perseverance, vision and respect for welding. His contributions came at a time when welding was "coming of age," and the improvements in quality and process control generated by him were vital to the acceptance of arc welding.


The purpose for this scholarship is to provide financial assistance to those individuals interested in pursuing a career in welding engineering.


The Edward J. Brady Scholarship will be awarded to an undergraduate student pursuing a minimum four-year bachelors degree in welding engineering (WE) or welding engineering technology (WET); however, priority will be given to welding engineering (WE) students. All applicants must meet the following eligibility requirements.

  • Applicant must be a minimum of eighteen years of age.
  • Applicant must have a minimum high school diploma.
  • Applicant must have a minimum 2.5 overall grade point average.
  • Applicant must provide a letter of reference indicating previous hands-on welding experience.
  • Student may be enrolled full or part time.
  • Proof of financial need is required to qualify.
  • Applicant must submit all required application information.
  • Applicant must be a citizen of the United States and plan to attend an academic institution located within the United States.
  • Applicants may reapply; however, persons who have received this award may reapply and may be granted the award for a maximum of four years.

The award will be presented to individuals nationwide. Applicant does not have to be a member of the American Welding Society.

The AWS Foundation does not discriminate by age, race, color, national origin, disability, creed, or gender.

Applicant will be chosen by the Named Scholarship Selection Committee comprised of five (5) members, which have been selected by the National Educational Scholarship Committee.

Selection committee will determine award recipient in February of each year. Recipient will be announced at the National Awards Luncheon.


One $2,500 award will be given annually.

No awards will be paid to the recipient. All awards are for tuition and books only, and will be paid directly to the academic institution by the AWS Foundation.

Scholarship Application