Donald J. Beneteau Scholarship

Donald J. Beneteau Scholarship

Don Beneteau worked full time as a tool and die maker apprentice at SKD Automotive in Amherstburg, Ontario to earn the money to concurrently pursue a full time degree in electronics and television engineering at the Detroit Electronics Institute in Detroit, MI. Having achieved success in both endeavors, Beneteau and two partners launched Centerline (Windsor) Limited in 1957.

Beneteau’s creativity, integrity, and hard work earned the respect of several automotive industry suppliers and moved CenterLine beyond its tool & die roots, to machine repair and ultimately to the design and manufacture of assembly machinery. Beneteau has been recognized for contributions to the welding industry by his peers with the Elihu Thomson award in 1995 and by election to the 1997 AWS class of Fellows.

Beneteau believed strongly that you always get more back than you put in. As a result, several industry and community organizations also benefited from his support, counsel and helping hand. This scholarship honors the man, his accomplishments, and his desire to help the welding industry grow stronger for those that will follow.


The purpose for this scholarship is to provide financial assistance to those individuals pursuing post-secondary education in welding.


The Donald J. Beneteau Scholarship will be awarded to an undergraduate student pursuing a full time or part time education in welding or a related program. All applicants must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Applicant must be a minimum of eighteen years of age.
  • Applicant must have a minimum high school diploma.
  • Applicant must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade point average.
  • Applicant must provide a letter of reference indicating previous hands-on welding experience.
  • Proof of financial need is required to qualify.
  • Applicant must be a student member of the American Welding Society.
  • Applicant must submit all required application information.
  • The applicant must be a citizen of the United States or Canadian citizen and plan to attend an academic institution located within the United States or Canada.
  • Applicants may reapply; however, persons who have received this award may be granted the award for a maximum of 2 time.

The AWS Foundation does not discriminate by age, race, color, national origin, disability, creed, or gender.


Applicant will be chosen by a Selection Committee comprised of at least five (5) members selected by the Education Scholarship Committee. Recipient will be announced at the National Awards Luncheon.


One $3,000 award will be given annually.

No awards will be paid to the recipient. All awards are for tuition and books only, and will be paid directly to the academic institution by the AWS Foundation.

Scholarship Application