Arsham Amirikian Engineering Scholarship

Arsham Amirikian Engineering Scholarship

This memorial Scholarship honors Dr. Arsham Amirikian for his engineering achievements that span five decades and are recognized around the World.

Dr. Arsham Amirikian was one of the world's most innovative civil engineers of his time. His imagination, interest in and devotion to creativity in the art of welding and its application to novel construction techniques, that gave exceptional properties to ordinary materials such as concrete and steel, won him international fame as an author, teacher, inventor, and pioneer.

Dr. Amirikian was born in Armenia where he obtained his early education. After graduating from a liberal arts college and an engineering school in Europe, he continued his studies in the United States and received the degree of Civil Engineer from Cornell University in 1923. He received the degree of Doctor of Technical Sciences from the Technical Institute of Vienna, Austria, in 1960.

Dr. Amirikian began his career working in steel fabricating shops. In 1928, he entered the Government service, as an assistant structural engineer in the Bureau of Yards and Docks of the Department of the Navy in Washington, D.C. He remained with the Bureau where he advanced through the grades to Chief Designing Engineer and Special Structures Consultant. In 1971, Dr. Amirikian founded the Amirikian Engineering Company where he continued with the development and application(s) of his engineering design techniques and inventions for the United States Government and other foreign countries.

Dr. Amirikian's contributions to the welding industry have been numerous. In presenting his analytic efforts, unique designs, and framing innovations, he authored over one hundred articles and papers, wrote two design treatises entitled Analysis of Rigid Frames and Basic Structural Engineering, served on several technical committees of the American Welding Society, and taught and lectured at George Washington University and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute on engineering design.

A long-time proponent for all-welded construction, Dr. Amirikian pioneered in numerous applications, including industrial buildings, hangers, towers, storage facilities, floating drydocks, and gate caissons. At the time of their construction, many of these projects represented the first and largest examples of all-welded construction.

In recognition of his creative designs in timber structures, reinforced concrete, thin-shell pre-cast reinforced concrete techniques, and steel, Dr. Amirikian received many honors from the peers of his field. These include: the Fuertes Graduate Gold Medal from Cornell University, the Lincoln Gold Medal of the American Welding Society in 1949, the Concrete Reinforcement Steel Institute Award in 1952, the A. E. Lindau Award of the American Concrete Institute in 1958, the Navy's Meritorious and Superior Service Awards, the Citation of the National Civil Service League, the Certificate of Achievement of Joint Task Force Three, the 1964 Adams Lecturer at the American Welding Society 45th Annual Meeting, the Navy Distinguished Civilian Service Award which is the highest award the Navy can bestow on a civilian, the Airco Welding Award in 1970, and the Goethals Medal of the American Society of Military Engineers in 1970.

He devoted his entire career to constant development of improved methods of structural analysis, framing arrangements of increased efficiency, and construction techniques and procedures of greater economy covering a wide variety of shore facilities and certain types of floating craft. Many of his naval structures such as the Ami Lift Dock and the Ami Pontoon were unique creations that were used during the Vietnam War and received international attention.


The purpose for this scholarship is to provide financial assistance to an engineering student pursuing a career in the application of the art of welding in civil and structural engineering.


The Arsham Amirikian Welding Scholarship will be awarded to an undergraduate student pursuing a minimum four-year bachelors degree in civil engineering or welding related degree at an accredited university. All applicants must meet the following eligibility requirements.

  1. Applicant must be a minimum of eighteen years of age.
  2. Applicant must have a minimum high school diploma or equivalent.
  3. Applicant must have a minimum 3.0 grade point average.
  4. Proof of financial need is required to qualify.
  5. Applicant must be a citizen of the United States and plan to attend an accredited engineering school located within the United States
  6. Applicant must submit all required application information.
  7. Maintain a minimum 3.0 grade point average throughout the academic year to apply for continued assistance in successive years. The maximum time allowed for financial aid under this grant is four years.

The award will be presented to individuals nationwide. Applicant does not have to be a member of the American Welding Society. The AWS Foundation does not discriminate by age, race, color, national origin, disability, creed, or gender.


The recipient will be chosen by a Selection Committee comprised of five (5) members, selected by the Education Scholarship Committee. The Selection Committee will determine award recipient in February of each year. Recipient will be announced at the National Awards Luncheon.


One $2,500 award will be given annually. No recipient shall receive more than one AWS National Scholarship award per year.

No awards will be paid to the recipient. All awards are for tuition and books only, and will be paid directly to the academic institution by the AWS Foundation.

Scholarship Application