Since 1991, the AWS Foundation has helped students from around the world to realize their dreams and make them a reality. AWS Foundation scholarships help students with their financial obligations; they help to cover a variety of school expenses such as tuition and fees, books and other supplies.

If you are currently enrolled in a welding program or a related field, then consider applying for our scholarships. Our recipients have come from all walks of life; some have attended vocational schools, community colleges, or four-year universities. Regardless of who you are, where you’re from, or what you aspire to be, receiving an AWS Foundation scholarship can be the extra push that helps you fulfill your goals.

We offer six types of scholarships:

Welder Training Scholarship
This scholarship is available to AWS Districts to provide funds to students seeking welder training through a trade school, community college, or other facility providing welder training programs.

The AWS Welder Training Scholarship is for students seeking welder training in a program up to two years, and cannot be used for credits towards a four-year program.

View additional information about the Welder Training Scholarship, along with the application

District Scholarships
District Scholarships, awarded annually at AWS District Conferences, provide funds that are payable directly to the school to which recipients have been accepted. These funds can be used to help cover cost of tuition, books, supplies and related institutional costs.

Additional information about District Scholarships including application deadlines

View video of the application process for the District Scholarship

Access the Online Application System here

District-Named and Section-Named Scholarships
Several District Named and Section Named scholarships are awarded annually.  These scholarships vary in the applicant requirements, award amount, and application process.

Potential applicants should plan ahead and review all the scholarship criteria

National Scholarships
National Scholarships, awarded annually, are for students pursuing a specific degree at an accredited two-year or four-year college or university.  Individual scholarships are worth a minimum of $2,500 annually. The application deadline is February 15th.

Applicants need to plan in advance to take advantage of this program.  The February 15th deadline is structured to provide funding for the following fall term.

View additional information about individual National Scholarships offered

View video of the application process for the National Scholarship

Access the Online Application System here

International Scholarships
International Scholarships are awarded to full-time international students pursuing undergraduate or graduate studies in joining sciences.  Applicants can be matriculating in accredited joining science programs at an institution located anywhere in the world.

View additional information about International Scholarships, including application deadlines

Access the Online Application System here

Educator Scholarships
Educator Scholarships are awarded to current welding educators or individuals pursuing a career in welding education.  National Level scholarships require applicants be enrolled in a college or university and be pursuing an AS, AAS, BS, MS, or PhD degree in an area related to welding.

District Level scholarship funds may be used for professional development courses. However, preference will be given to those applicants pursuing their AS, AAS, BS, MS, or PhD degree in an area related to welding.  Applicants must attend an educational institution within the boundaries of the pertinent AWS District in which they apply.

View additional information about the National and District level Educator Scholarships

Contact the  AWS Foundation

Women in Skilled Trades

Women in Skilled Trades - USA Today

Read More >