Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

AWS Promotes Diversity

AWS values diversity, advocates equitable and inclusive practices, and engages its members and stakeholders in establishing a culture in the welding community that welcomes, learns from, and celebrates differences among people. AWS recognizes that a commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion is essential to achieving excellence for the Association, its members, and employees.

The Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee of the American Welding Society:

  • Keeps abreast of best practices, trends & innovations, and educates the broader AWS community on the tenets, principles and outcomes of inclusive excellence practices
  • Develops, recommends, and implements external relations and outreach to advance the Society’s vision of inclusive excellence
  • Develops, recommends and implements a holistic approach for diversity and inclusion efforts throughout the Society
  • Increases engagement by establishing and leveraging relationships with underrepresented groups in the welding community and in AWS committees and membership
  • Takes a proactive stance in outreach, relationship-building and collaboration with internal and external stakeholder groups; collects and analyzes data, and shares information on diversity and inclusion efforts with the Board of Directors and other stakeholders
  • Collaborates with other standing committees on developing strategies, ideas, & short and long-term programming designed to increase diversity and advance inclusion efforts in the Society membership and leadership

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee Members:

Lynn Showalter, Chair

Shanen Aranmor

Nancy Cole

Debbie Doench

Mitchell Grams

Pierrette Gorman

Stewart Harris

Lee Kvidahl

William Newell

Sayee Raghunathan

Robert Roth

Matthew Vieira

Dean Wilson

Brandy Killeen, Future Leader Representative

Andrea Orr, Future Leader Representative

Robert Watson, Future Leader Representative

Hannah Wolf, Future Leader Representative

Richard Polanin, Ex-Officio

Anthony Anderson, Ex-Officio

Gary Konarska, Ex-Officio

Monica Pfarr, Secretary

AWS Member Network

AWS Member Network

Read More >