CWENG: Managing the Interplay of Skill and Science in Welding

CWENG: Managing the Interplay of Skill and Science in Welding

A Certified Welding Engineer is a skilled professional who combines welding engineering principles to create strong, efficient welded structures, components, or products. With a deep understanding of design, materials, processes, and quality requirements, they carefully select and apply suitable materials and techniques to meet specific conditions outlined in drawings, standards, and contracts. Their expertise manages the interplay of skill and science in the world of welding.

Application, Renewal, Recertification 

Application, Renewal, Recertification 

Visit to enter information, submit required documentation and a current photo, register for seminars and courses, and make payments.

The CWENG credential is valid for five years. The CWEng must show the relevant education to renew and maintain their credential.

Select from the options below
Register Now

CWENG Initial Application

  • How it Works
  • Required Documents
  • Computer-Based Testing (CBT)
  • Training
Register Now
Register Now

CWENG Renewal


  • How it Works
Register Now

CWENG Initial Application

  • Overview
  • Documents
  • Exam Information
  • Training
  • Pricing

CWENG Requirements and Process 

To earn the Certified Welding Engineer (CWEng) credential, candidates need a combination of qualifying education and work experience. The minimum requirements are:

  • Bachelor of Science or higher degree in engineering:
    • Requires a minimum of one (1) year of welding-based work experience.
  • Bachelor of Science or higher degree in engineering technology:
    • Requires a minimum of two (2) years of welding-based work experience.
  • Other related Bachelor of Science degree:
    • Requires a minimum of five (5) years of welding-based work experience.
  • Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) degree:
    • Requires a minimum of ten (10) years of welding-based work experience.
  • High school diploma or approved high school equivalency diploma:
    • Requires a minimum of fifteen (15) years of welding-based work experience.

Experience can be gained in various areas, including design, manufacturing, fabrication, construction, research and development, and training.

Individuals with a State Professional Engineering License in Welding Engineering or a diploma from International Welding Engineer (IIW) or European Welding Engineer (EWF) programs are eligible for special considerations in the qualification process.

For more details, refer to the AWS Qualification Specification: B5.16:2006 - Specification for the Qualification of Welding Engineers.

Application process:

Visit the online portal to provide the required documentation, make payment and register for seminars and courses.

Make sure to have the following documents ready before starting the application process:

Seminar and Exam Schedule

Find upcoming in-person seminars and exam dates on AWS by visiting the Seminar and Exam Schedule.

CWENG Certification Exams

The CWEng Certification Program consists of four exam parts, each with a passing score of 60% or higher. The passing requirement for the certification is a minimum weighted percentage of 70% across all four .

The weights for the CWENG exam parts are:

  • Part 1: Mathematics (25%), Physics (50%), Chemistry (25%)
  • Part 2: Strength of Materials (40%), Heat Transfer and Fluid Mechanics (30%), Electricity (30%)
  • Part 3: NDE/Weld Discontinuities (10%), Welding Heat Sources and Arc Physics (20%), Welding Processes and Controls (20%), Welding and Joint Metallurgy (20%), Weld Design (20%), Brazing and Soldering (5%), Safety (5%)
  • Part 4: Based on AWS D1.1 Fabrication (25%), Filler Metals (15%), Inspection (20%), Productivity (10%), Welder Performance Qualification (10%), Welding Procedure Qualification (20%)

Parts 1 and 2 can be waived by successfully completing the Fundamentals of Engineering Examination (FE formerly known as the Engineer-in-Training (EIT) examination).

Note that the CWEng designation does not imply the status of a registered Professional Engineer (P.E.) under the laws of any state or governmental entity, and additional requirements may apply for providing technical services to the public.

Computer-Based Testing/Prometric Exam Centers 

AWS conducts the four exams via computer-based testing (CBT) at more than 450 Prometric Exam Centers across the globe.

Learn more about Prometric CBT and Exam Centers: 

Retaking the CWENG Exam

CWEng candidates who do not achieve the required passing score can retake an exam. Candidates who do not pass all four sections of the CWEng exam will receive guidance on AWS Retest Policy through the Official Score Letter. They can retest up to three times within three years from the original test date.

If a candidate meets the minimum percentage for each of the four parts but fails to achieve the minimum composite score, they can retest in any exam part to improve their overall score. If the combined weighted average of all four parts is below 70%, the CWEng candidate may opt to retest in any exam part.

Within the three-year period starting from the original test date, the maximum number of reexaminations allowed is three. The first reexamination (Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, or Part 4) can be taken without additional training. Only one reexamination (Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, or Part 4) is permitted without documented evidence of additional training.

Due to the comprehensive knowledge necessary to pass the CWEng exams, including basic and applied science subjects which form the foundation of an engineer’s knowledge, AWS does not offer an exam preparation seminar. Potential candidates are encouraged to study the AWS B5.16 standard and pursue educational opportunities or self-study that address the detailed subjects covered in the standard.


  • Overview
  • Pricing

The CWEng certification is valid for an indefinite period as long as it is renewed every five (5) years.

To renew, CWEng professionals must demonstrate successful completion of continued education every five years, totaling 80 contact hours or a combination of contact hours and continuing education units related to the functions defined in B5.16.

Renewal applications can be accessed through the Certification Application Portal, and the status of credentials, applications, or exam registrations can be checked via the MyAWS Portal.