C2 Committee on Thermal Spraying

C2 Committee on Thermal Spraying


Responsible for creating and revising standards on thermal spray.

Committee Leadership


Daniel Hayden, Hayden Corporation



Yojaidy Acosta

Join the Committee

Join the Committee

The C2 Committee seeks volunteers to participate in its standards development process. The committee is recruiting all types of members as well as members with specific interests (Consultants, Educators, General Interest, and Users) in regard to the committee’s scope. Contact Ady Celaya to learn more about this committee’s work and/or complete the Technical Committee Application.

As part of the standards development process, joining this committee will give you access to Accuris Engineering Workbench to streamline your workflow.


AWS C2.16/C2.16M:2017

Guide for Thermal Spray Operator Qualification Programs

AWS C2.18:1993 (R2001)

Guide for the Protection of Steel with Thermal Sprayed Coatings of Aluminum and Zinc and their Alloys and Composites

AWS C2.19/C2.19M:2023

Specification for the Application of Thermal Spray Coatings to Machine Elements for OEM and Repair

AWS C2.20/C2.20M:2016

Specification for Thermal Spraying Zinc Anodes on Steel Reinforced Concrete

AWS C2.21M/C2.21:2015

Specification for Thermal Spray Equipment Performance Verification

AWS C2.23M/C2.23:2018

Specification for the Application of Thermal Spray Coatings (Metallizing) of Aluminum, Zinc, and Their Alloys and Composites for the Corrosion Protection of Steel

AWS C2.25/C2.25M:R2018

Specification for Thermal Spray Feedstock-Wire and Rods


AWS C2.26/C2.26M

Specification for Thermal Spraying and Welding Powder Consumables

AWS C2.27/C2.27M

Guide for Thermal Spray Masking

AWS C2.28/C2.28M

Guide to Thermal Spray Equipment Selection

List of Subcommittees

AWS C2A Subcommittee on Machine Element Repair and Restoration

CHAIR: Daniel Hayden, Hayden Corporation

AWS C2C Subcommittee on Thermal Sprayed Coatings for Reinforced Concrete

CHAIR: Ivan Lasa, Lasa and Associates Corrosion Services

AWS C2D Subcommittee on Thermal Spraying: Theory, Practice, and Application

CHAIR: Daniel Hayden, Hayden Corporation

AWS C2F Subcommittee on Thermal Spray Operator Qualification

CHAIR: Mollie Blasingame, Superior Shot Peening

AWS C2G Subcommittee on Thermal Spray Equipment

CHAIR: Jim Ryan, Techmet Alloys, LLC

AWS C2J Subcommittee on Feedstock for Thermal Spray

CHAIR: William Mosier, Polymet Corp